Posted by: cyclingcanadacoast2coast | 3 July 2010

The best campsite in Canada!

Friday 2nd July

I think I have found the friendliest campground in Canada! It was just luck that I stopped here and now I’m struggling to leave.

Yesterday was again a cool day with the strong headwind continuing. I said goodbye to the wonderful Route Verte but started on the equally good Waterfront Trail which I’ve discovered runs all the way from the border to Niagara. Everyone suddenly started speaking English again although I’m so used to saying “bonjour” to everyone it took me awhile to stop. The trail started on a quite road with a good shoulder and then later turned into a paved cycle path. The first large town I came to was Cornwall and the path ran right through the park where there was a large Canada day fête. There were a few stalls, kids rides and a large stage with children singing and dancing. Alas I had to leave before the allure of the beer and poutine tent caused the day to prematurely end!

I passed a couple of smaller fetes in other villages along the way. The cycling was lovely but again slow due to the wind. I’m back along the St Lawrence river with the USA on the other side. I arrived at Long Sault parkway where there is a string of small islands with a number of provincial campgrounds. Unfortunately they were full. Normally campgrounds don’t turn away bikers but they would not budge even when I pointed out to them I had nowhere to go. Well I cycled through the islands anyway and started to look for a suitable place to freecamp. I couldn’t find anywhere but as I left the park I noticed a private campground. Lucky for me they had space so I set up camp and cooked dinner.

Word had spread of my arrival and gradually people came over for a chat. Jim in the RV opposite me bought a lovely sun lounger over so I could relax. He also invited me to join them round the campfire later. I wondered over and everyone already knew who I was. They all made me feel so welcome and I had a lovely end to my first Canada day having a few beers chatting round the campfire.

Today I got ready to set off and stopped for a cup of tea with Laurie and Clarence. Her daughter Cathy with her husband Will and son Jake joined us as did a few of the neighbours. They were telling me about the communal breakfast they are having tomorrow and tried to persuade me to stay. Well they did a good job (food is always a good enticement with me) and I decided to have a day off. It’s been great and I’ve had the laziest day! The hardest thing I’ve had to do all day was a few lengths of the pool and opening a few beer bottles (my arm is really aching)! I did my laundry and then spent the day on the sun lounger reading. It’s getting hotter again and forecast to be in the 30’s the next few days. I went for a swim in the pool and then happy hour started around 4 when the neighbours get together for a beer. I was invited to join them for dinner and had a lovely BBQ with beers round the camp fire to end the day. I can certainly see why this RV camping is so popular. All the people I’ve met have their trailer here permanently and some have been here for 30 years.

Saturday 3rd July

Had a fantastic $5 breakfast this morning with the whole campground involved. Everyone seemed to know who I was so chatted with a few people as I left. Laurie and her family had been telling me about the “grillodogs” they were going to cook in the fire tonight and were doing a good job of persuading me to stay another day. It was hard to leave but I’m never going to make it across at this rate! Said my goodbyes and back on the trail with the same headwind!

Just want to say a massive thank you to everyone at Lakeview Campsite for making me so welcome, looking after me and making it feel like a home away from home!

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Location:Inglewood ON


Leave a comment

Categories