Posted by: cyclingcanadacoast2coast | 30 June 2010

Montreal

Wednesday 30th June
Well I spent a day in Montreal and it’s nice enough but it’s a big city and lacks the charm of Quebec. The first thing I did was walk to the top of the highest point, Mont Royal. Unfortunately it started to rain and by the time I got to the top I was soaked and all I could see were some tall buildings through the rain and fog.

Next stop was Mountain Equipment Coop (MEC), my favourite shop, to buy a few things I needed. Unfortunately it was miles away and took me ages. Back to the centre on the tube where I stopped in the tourist office to get some info and maps on leaving the city. No help but they recommended a place and phoned them to check and they said yes they could help. So back on the tube, another long walk, all to no avail as they were useless. What a waste of time. Back into the centre to have a quick look around the old town and then home. There is a jazz festival on at the moment but I was too tired to go.

Today was a bit chilly and overcast with a very strong headwind. I quickly found the bike path and it was a lovely ride through the better parts of town this time. There were only a few places where I wasn’t on a bike path. I then found the wonderful Piste Cyclable de Soulanges. This bicycle path follows the old Soulanges Canal. It was constructed between 1892 and 1899 and served as the main shipping lane through this section of the St. Lawrence. It was abandoned in 1959 after the opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway.

I took it slow today as I couldn’t be bothered to fight the wind. I was hoping to get to Onterio but stopped about 10km before it. It’s Canada day tomorrow so I want to see the celebrations.

I’ve really enjoyed Quebec and will be sad to leave. It really does feel like I’ve been in a different country. I was a bit worried about the language but I’ve muddled through. It’s funny as no one speaks English in the east but in Montreal I can hear both being spoken all the time. I always ask people first in French whether they speak English. Well in the east I would usually get a “no” said with an insulted look as if to say “how dare you make me speak that filthy language”! While in the west I would get a curt “of course” with an insulted look to say “how dare you assume I don’t speak two languages”! You can’t win! The people have been wonderful as usual. In Montreal I had someone ask if I needed help when I was looking at a map. Today as I was cycling along someone came up beside me and asked if I needed help with where I was going. You don’t often get that in big cities. The other thing about Quebec is most people are much more careful about locking their wi-fi which I think is very inconsiderate for the poor cyclists!

Distance 3161

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Location:Saint Zotique QC


Responses

  1. I can empathise with the locked wifi. I spent nearly 2 days trying to get into my e-mail to retrieve the details of the people I was staying with in Ottawa. It was rather stressful! I’ve just been to my second MEC. I found a street in Ottawa with 3 large outdoor shops and was in heaven! Happy cycling.

    Helen


Leave a comment

Categories